River City Rapids reports today on a comment Mayor Wilder made at a recent town forum about the sad state of public transit in Richmond:

The mayor’s reply (paraphrased): “I know we need to do a better job with transportation. I find it incredible that you can now get on the bus and go to Fredericksburg but you can’t get on it and go to Chesterfield!”

Besides appreciating the humor here, I’m glad to know that Wilder supports public transit. Besides the now-forgotten diatribes he made against the congregation of bus riders on Broad St., this is the first I’ve heard of him speaking on public transportation.

I wish he’d spend more of his political capital on that issue and less on some other fights he’s picking.

And thanks to River City Rapids for sharing this anecdote. It made my day.  Or at least my morning.

