When I received Ukrop’s letter about the Grace St. store closing, I thought it was a perfect reason for me to come out of blogging hibernation with some breaking news.  Then River City Rapids beat me to the punch.  Well I have details he didn’t report:

Ukrop’s will close at 6 p.m. on May 10th.  (Jon forgot to mention the time, which gave me something else to report! Ha ha).

The letter also says they’ve been operating the store “at a significant deficit” for the 5 years it’s been open, and that they’ve been in conversation with “nationally recognized businesses attempting to find an alternative retailer to take over this location.”

Nationally recognized? Does that mean a chain?

In the good news category, they’ve offered positions at other Ukrop’s to all employees affected by this decision.

